Events & Updates

Gynecology Program Earns National Ranking

U.S. News & World Report evaluates nearly 5,000 hospitals nationwide to come up with its annual list of Best Hospitals. And once again, the Nebraska Medical Center is the number one rated hospital in the state of Nebraska. In addition, the Nebraska Medical Center Gynecology Program received a national ranking, the only hospital in the state to have a nationally ranked specialty. Click here for more information on the ranking. 

Nebraska Medicine Named to List of Top Women's Health Programs

Nebraska Medicine is honored to be named to the 2017 edition of “100 hospitals and health systems with great women’s health programs” by Becker’s Hospital Review. The hospitals included on the list support award-winning programs in women’s health, breast cancer diagnosis and treatment, gynecology and women’s heart care. Nebraska Medicine is the only health care system in Nebraska to be included on the list.  

The list also recognizes hospitals with forward-thinking labor and delivery departments and recognition for their maternity care. Many are high volume referral centers for their community, servicing women with health care needs across the spectrum.

“Women from all over Nebraska and the region rely on our comprehensive team of board-certified specialists,” says Carl V. Smith, MD, chairman of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Nebraska Medicine. “From gynecologic issues to high-risk pregnancies, mental health and cancer screenings, we have the most advanced and compassionate medical care. Patients can be confident that they’re in good hands.”

To view the list, click here

March Brown Bag Lecture - "Healthcare Mission: How Sustainability Creates a Healthy Future for All"

What is sustainability?  While many think of it as “being green” or “saving the environment” being sustainable directly relates to your health.  It’s a connection that can be easily overlooked, but directly impacts your daily life.

At the next Olson Center brown bag lecture, Melanie Stewart will outline the big and small actions you can take to make a difference in your health and that of your family, as well as our current and future patients at UNMC and Nebraska Medicine.  Seating is limited; please pre-register by calling the Olson Center at 402-559-6345. 

The Brown Bag is Tues., March 19, 12 - 1 PM in the UNMC Eppley Science Hall Amphitheater.  Please call (402) 559-6345 to pre-register and for more information.  

Note:  The University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing Continuing Nursing Education is accredited with distinction as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. This activity is provided for 1.0 contact hour under ANCC criteria.  Course ID: 19OL011

Following the brown bag, please click on the Video Library to view the presentation.  Previous monthly brown bags are also available at this link.

Featured Stories