Distinguished Lectureships & Awards

McFadden Lecture Series

The Harry W. McFadden, Jr., M.D. Lectureship was established in 1985 by Drs. David Purtilo and Samuel Cohen to honor his valuable and numerous contributions to pathology, microbiology, and the University of Nebraska Medical Center. This Lectureship was expanded by the Class of 1964 College of Medicine Alumni in 1989 on their 25th reunion as a tribute to his role as an outstanding educator, practitioner, and friend. The first presenter of the Lectureship, Dr. Tucker LeBein, had been one of Dr. McFadden’s graduate students. The Lectureship has become one of the most notable occasions of the year at UNMC, and has included numerous outstanding lecturers, including three Nobel Prize Laureates as well as a Governor of the State of Nebraska (The Honorable Dave Heineman, 2005). The lectures were always attended by both Dr. McFadden and his wife, Jo, until their deaths, and frequently also by their son, Dr. Harry E. McFadden and his family, and by their daughter, Mary Jean McFadden.

For more information on Dr. McFadden and a complete list of distinguished speakers,
please open the McFadden Lecture Series program.  

Greenfield Lecture Series

Dr. Robert Greenfield

The Robert E. Greenfield, M.D. Lectureship in Carcinogenesis was established in 1985 by Drs. Purtilo and Cohen to honor their mentor. The first Greenfield lecturer was Dr. Takashi Sugimura who was mentored by Dr. Greenfield while Dr. Sugimura was a fellow at NCI in the 1950s. Dr. Sugimura became the President of the National Cancer Center of Japan in Tokyo. The first 12 presenters of this Lectureship had interacted with Dr. Greenfield in some aspect of his career.

For more information on Dr. Greenfield and a complete list of distinguished speakers,
please open the Greenfield Lecture Series program.  

Schenken Award

Dr. Schenken

The Jerald R. Schenken, M.D., Outstanding Achievement in Pathology and Microbiology Award was established in 2000 as a tribute to his numerous contributions to pathology and laboratory medicine. Dr. Schenken was active in teaching medical students, residents and laboratory scientists in the Department of Pathology and Microbiology and the College of Medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.  In addition, it acknowledges Dr. Schenken’s leadership as a trustee of The American Board of Pathology. This annual award recognizes three medical students who have excelled in the second year pathology curriculum and are academically outstanding. Dr. Schenken’s wife Charlotte hosts a dinner in their honor which is attended by Dr. Schenken’s children John, Elizabeth and Parker, and senior leadership of the department. 

Schenken Awardees 
2012: Michael Carter, Valerie Prescher, and Lauren Volentine
2013:   Kurt Fisher, Joel Michalski, and Thomas McKnight
2014: Ashely Bauer, Jesse Cox, and Corey Georgesen
2015: Nicholas Lintel, Tyler Teichmeier, Gautam Malhotra, Matthew Evans, and Andrew Siref
2016: Alexander Braun and Daniel Pelletier
2017: Caitlyn Fee

For more information on Dr. Schenken, please open the Schenken Award program.