University of Nebraska Medical Center

Scientist Development Award

This award is designed to support promising Department of Internal Medicine faculty making the transition from fellowship/post-doctoral training or as early faculty into a career as an independent researcher.  The purpose of the award is to provide support for faculty, at the Instructor or Assistant Professor level, during which the applicant would participate in a mentored research-training program. It is anticipated that most, but not all, applicants will be senior fellows or in the first two years of a faculty appointment at the time of submission.

This mentored program provides support for salary as well as research and/or education costs for one year of research training in an environment where awardees will interact with more established investigators in the Department of Internal Medicine and their collaborators.  Up to one award will be made annually.  The goal of funding at this level is to provide an opportunity for young scientists to embark on focused research and research training that will allow them to be competitive for the next level of career development awards (e.g. NIH K Award, VA Career Development Award, or equivalent foundation award).  It is expected that the awardee will demonstrate significant productivity during the one-year funding period including but not limited to serving as the PI on external grant applications, first-author manuscript submissions, and/or participation in meaningful professional development (e.g. research training) activities.  Through this award, the Department provides a means for ensuring more qualified, highly-trained investigators at UNMC.

Submit the 2023 application by December 5th. 

Award Amount: Up to $100,000 in total funds for 1 year

Prior Award Winners

2016 Inaugural Award Winner
Anery Patel, MD
Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology & Metabolism
Proposal titled “BMX-001 as a Radio-Protector Agent for Untoward Effects of Radioactive Iodine Treatment in Thyroid Cancer.”
Bryant England, MD
2017 Award Winner
Bryant England, MD
Division of Rheumatology and Immunology rheumatology fellow
Proposal titled “Enhancing the Identification of Rheumatoid Arthritis Associated Lung Disease.”

2018 Award Winner
Paul Thomes, PhD
Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Proposal titled “Mechanisms of Autophagy in The Pathophysiology of Alcoholic Liver Disease.”
Richard Hankins
2019 Award Winner
Richard Hankins, MD
Division of Infectious Diseases
Proposal titled “Prospective, Crossover, Comparative Study of 2 Methods of Chlorhexidine Bathing.”
Dr. Douglas D. Franz
2020 Award Winner
Doug Franz, MD
Division of Nephrology
Proposal titled "Predictors of clinically significant kidney function decline in patients receiving long-term left ventricular assist device (LVAD) support."

2021 Award Winner
Dustin Krutsinger, MD

Christopher D'Angelo

2021 Award Winner
Christopher D'Angelo, MD

Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Proposal titled "Exploring the Impact of Unengaged Stakeholders and Intra-Family Conflict in Critical Care Surrogate Decision Making."





Division of Hematology & Oncology
Proposal titled "Prebiotics to Improve Gut Microbiome Diversity After Autologous Stem Cell Transplantation in Multiple Myeloma and Lymphoma: The PRIMAL Trial."