University of Nebraska Medical Center

Pediatric Brain Tumor Collaborative

The Pediatric Brain Tumor Collaborative formed due to connections made at the CHRI Pediatric Cancer Research Symposium.


To improve the life of children with high-risk medulloblastomas


To capitalize on complementary biomedical expertise within CHRI and the greater University of Nebraska campuses to collaboratively advance our understanding of high-risk medulloblastoma pathophysiology and therapeutics


  1. To allow for free exchange of ideas that may result in better quality research
  2. To provide a panel of MB experts who may provide peer review for future projects, manuscripts and grants
  3. To eventually procure multi-PI national funding


Associate Professor, Department of Genetics, Cell Biology and Anatomy

Kishor Bhakat

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Kishore Challagundla

Assistant Professor, Division of Hematology/Oncology

Nagendra Chaturvedi, PhD

Professor, Division of Hematology/Oncology
Edna Ittner Chair of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
Director, Pediatric Cancer Research Group

Don Coulter, MD

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery

Arnett Klugh

Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery

Dr. Grace Lai

Associate Professor, Division of Critical Care

Sidharth Mahapatra, MD, PhD

Chair and Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Ram Mahato

Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Aaron Mohs

Associate Professor, Division of Hematology/Oncology

Chittalsinh Raulji, MBBS

Assistant Professor, Division of Hematology/Oncology

Sutapa Ray, PhD

Professor, Eppley Institute

Angie Rizzino

Assistant Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

Afshin Salehi

Associate Professor and Director, Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Program

Paul Trippier