University of Nebraska Medical Center

About Us

UNMC Department of Neurological Sciences Campus

The Department of Neurological Sciences constantly pursues all aspects of the UNMC mission: clinical service, medical education, biomedical research and community outreach.

Our residents are trained at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and affiliated institutions (Omaha VA and Children's Nebraska). Our residents receive outstanding exposure and training in all aspects of neurological diagnosis and care, consistently excel in national in-service examinations and obtain premier fellowship positions nationwide. 

Research is a core mission of our department, from clinical trials to a broad range of basic, translational and clinical studies to address urgent biomedical research questions. Neurological Sciences faculty collaborate with physicians and researchers across campus and with other academic and private partners, research networks and patient communities. Research is bolstered by a state-of-the-art functional MRI, magnetoencephalography PET scanning and other tools. The department also anchors two large Institutional Development Awards (IDeA), namely the Great Plains IDeA-Clinical and Translational Research Network and the Cognitive Neuroscience of Development & Aging Center. The Regents approved Center for Integrative and Translational Neurosciences is an umbrella for many other flagship NIH awards to build infrastructure and provide support for many basic, clinical and translational researchers.  

Our faculty are also dedicated to outreach efforts for patients, families, healthcare providers and community members to provide education and increase awareness and support for all patients and families living with neurological disorders.

Meet Our Faculty


Frances & Edgar Reynolds Chair, UNMC Department of Neurological Sciences
Principal Investigator, Director, Great Plains IDeA-CTR
Director of Neuroscience Services, Nebraska Medicine


Matthew Rizzo, MD, FAAN, FANA
Julie Ditter

Administrator III


Associate Professor, General Neurology
Director, UNMC/Nebraska Medicine Neurosciences Center
Chief, Headache Medicine
General Neurology Division Chief


Elizabeth Hartman, MD

Associate Professor, Movement Disorders, Department of Neurological Sciences
Director, Huntington's Disease Center, Nebraska Medicine
Neurology Residency Program Director


Amy Hellman, MD

Vice Chair, Clinical and Translational Research
Professor, Memory Disorders
Program Director, Behavioral Neurology and Neuropsychiatry Fellowship
Director, Memory Disorders & Behavioral Neurology


Daniel Murman, MD, MS

Assistant Professor, UNMC Department of Neurological Sciences
Chief Scientific Administrator, Great Plains IDeA-CTR

Kati Cordts, PhD

Administrative Staff:

  • Tova Safford: Administrator I
  • Lisa McCann: Administrative Business Associate
  • Jenny Brady: Office Associate I 
  • Jeff Laird: Office Associate II
  • Kendall Panas: Project Administrator, CoNDA Center 
  • Sallie Weathers: Web/Social Media & Events Coordinator
  • Ashly Wilcox: Department Biller

Administrative Project Associates

  • Gregory Costello
  • Mary Cook
  • Rebecca Hague
  • Bella Perry-Schuett


  • Kyra Gause: GME/UME Education Program Coordinator II
  • Cesar Hernandez-Montenegro: Education Coordinator GME/UME II 


  • Johna Belling: Research Grants Administrator II
  • Deb Heimes: Clinical Research Administrative Lead
  • Matt McCoy: Grants Administration Coordinator 
  • Nick Miller: Clinical Research Assistant
  • Steffen Schuett: Accountant II