Dr. Clarke to lead faculty senate

by John Keenan, UNMC public relations | June 26, 2020

Image with caption: Brandy Clarke, Ph.D.

Brandy Clarke, Ph.D.

Brandy Clarke, Ph.D., an associate professor of psychology at the Munroe-Meyer Institute, will be the president of the UNMC Faculty Senate for the 2020-21 academic year.

Dr. Clarke served as president-elect last year and takes over the presidential role at a time when UNMC is facing many challenges.

"It's an unprecedented situation we find ourselves in, related not only to the clinical care that we provide, but also the education and training of our students, residents and the like," she said. "We are going to have to work pretty closely in collaboration with leadership, faculty and students to figure out how to navigate the ongoing effects of COVID-19."

Although it will be a unique year, Dr. Clarke said, the university will be able to rely on its systems and relationships to make timely and responsive decisions.

"But even within the context of all these challenges, there are opportunities for growth and innovation," Dr. Clarke said. "We're learning some new things, because we've had to, about how to engage in distance learning and telehealth services. There are opportunities to sustain some of these new efforts that are working well."

Dr. Clarke also plans for the Faculty Senate to address issues of equity on campus.

"How can we systematically address some of these issues of racism, inequality and disparities in our work and more effectively move the needle?" she asked. "That's work I'm excited about, and we've got many dynamic leaders on campus that are on board and engaged in making that happen."

Elections took place in June as outgoing senators were acknowledged and new senators were introduced. The Faculty Senate meets the first working Monday of the month, September through June, at 5 p.m. in the Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center, Room 0-12103 on the ground level.

Other officers are:

  • Immediate past president: Allison Cushman-Vokoun, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of pathology/microbiology, UNMC College of Medicine
  • Vice president/president elect: Aaron Mohs, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences, UNMC College of Pharmacy.
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Trek Langenhan, M.D., assistant professor of internal medicine-hospital medicine, UNMC College of Medicine.


Fill out the following. We welcome respectful comments pertaining to the subject of the article. Comments are subject to approval by UNMC.

Name (Required)

Email (Required)

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.

Edward (Ted) Roche
June 27, 2020 at 1:12 PM

Congratulations Aaron!! I wish you well in the coming years. The Medical Center has many challenges ahead, and I my thoughts are with you in your journey.

Lisa Spellman
June 26, 2020 at 8:57 AM

Congratulations Dr. Clarke!