Graduate Student Association names officers

The 2018-19 edition of the Graduate Student Association is under way, with emphases on social activities, professional and networking development, mental and physical wellbeing, and volunteer service, said new president Swagat Sharma.

The GSA recently held its annual Halloween Havoc event, traditionally the GSA’s biggest party of the year. A costume contest, food and DJ helped graduate students take a break and have a little fun.

But the GSA also has gotten serious, filling out key leadership positions and inviting guest speakers to each meeting for informational presentations and give-and-take discussions. Kendra Schmid, Ph.D., assistant dean of graduate studies and director, campus wide assessment, attended the inaugural GSA meeting of the school year.

GSA also plans to partner with the Office of Graduate Studies to bring in alumni to network and share hard-won experiences.

2018-19 GSA leadership includes:

  • President: Swagat Sharma
  • Vice president: Scott Mulder
  • Secretary: Ryan McGuire Singh
  • Treasurer: Rajan Bhattarai
  • International student chair: Alisha Aggarwal
  • Alumni chair: Nicholas Wojtynek
  • Outreach chair: Navneet Kaur
  • Social co-chair: Pranita Atri
  • Social co-chair: Bedant Chakraborty
  • Student wellness chair: Xinyue Li
  • Student engagement chair: Joel Frandsen
  • Interprofessional education chair: Willow Hynes-Smith