UNMC Alumni Association announces 2020 award recipients

October 26, 2020

Image with file name: Cathernine_Mello_0008.jpg

The UNMC Alumni Association has announced its 2020 award recipients. 
This year, the association and its college-specific alumni councils are finding new ways to recognize the award recipients virtually in lieu of in-person gatherings, which were postponed due to the pandemic. Several Zoom award celebrations will take place -- learn more here
website that features photos, biographies and video acceptance remarks has been created to honor the recipients. 
"Our alumni and these honorees make a difference in their profession, their communities, and for the university and we are proud of everything they have accomplished," said Catherine Mello, director of the UNMC Alumni Relations Office. "Honoring our alumni for meritorious service is at the core of our mission. We hope we will have the opportunity to celebrate each recipient in-person at future events." 
The 2020 alumni award recipients include: 
College of Allied Health Professions
Karen Graulich Stiles, (Clinical Laboratory Science Class of 1978), Distinguished Alumnus Award, of Gretna
Graduate Studies Program
Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD, (Class of 1993), Distinguished Alumnus Award; 
Sara A. Myers, PhD, (Class of 2011), Early Career Achievement Award of Ashland; and 
Joyce Solheim, PhD, Honorary Alumnus Award.
College of Medicine
Van Vahle, MD, (Class of 1970), Distinguished Alumnus Award, Dr. Van Vahle was born in Holdrege, grew up in Alma and spent his whole career in Seward where still lives;
Richard Jackson, MD, (Class of 1969), Dedication to Student Excellence Award, Dr. Jackson spent his whole career practicing in Pawnee City, and still lives there; 
Daniel Hershberger, MD, (Class of 2010), Early Career Achievement Award; and 
Sue Pope, Honorary Alumnus Award. He is from Milford.
College of Nursing
Shelly Schwedhelm, MSN (BSN, 1991), Distinguished Alumnus Award; 
Kosuke Niitsu, PhD, (BSN 2009, MSN 2013, PhD 2017), Nursing Excellence Award; and 
Kellee Grimes, MBA, (BSN 2010), Dorothy Patach Spirit of Service Award.
College of Pharmacy
C. David Elm, PhD, (BS Class of 1963), Distinguished Alumnus Award, of Lafayette, Colo.
College of Public Health
  • Linda Ohri, PharmD, MPH, (Class of 1974, 2008), Distinguished Alumnus Award; and 
  • Jocelyn Herstein, PhD, MPH, (Class of 2016, 2018), Early Career Achievement Award.
The College of Dentistry alumni will announce its 2020 award recipients at their reunion in the fall of 2021. 
We are Nebraska Medicine and UNMC. Our mission is to lead the world in transforming lives to create a healthy future for all individuals and communities through premier educational programs, innovative research and extraordinary patient care.
Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  YouTube  |  Flickr