Nominations open for President’s Excellence Awards

Ted Carter, president of the University of Nebraska

Ted Carter, president of the University of Nebraska

The University of Nebraska has opened nominations for the President’s Excellence Awards, the university’s most prestigious honors for success in the classroom, the laboratory and in the campus and broader communities.

This year, categories also include a new award that honors research discovery and commercialization.

The categories are:

  • Faculty IP Innovation and Commercialization Award (FIPICA): This new award honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have developed and nurtured new intellectual property from concept to licensing/startup business.
  • Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award (OTICA): Recognizes up to two individual faculty members who have demonstrated meritorious and sustained records of excellence and creativity in teaching.
  • Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award (IECA): Recognizes sustained, outstanding contributions in diversity and inclusion between two or more University of Nebraska academic and/or administrative units or campuses that move the university system toward inclusive excellence.
  • Innovation, Development and Engagement Award (IDEA): Recognizes up to two faculty members who have extended their academic expertise beyond the boundaries of the university in ways that have enriched the broader community.
  • University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA): Recognizes a department or unit within the university that has made a unique and significant contribution to the teaching efforts of the university and which has outstanding esprit de corps in its dedication to the education of students at the undergraduate, graduate or professional level.
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award (ORCA): Recognizes up to two individual faculty members for outstanding research or creative activity of national or international significant.

Nomination criteria, information on past winners and instructions are all available on the awards webpage. All nominations are due Nov. 12.

"I encourage you to take this opportunity to nominate a colleague, department or unit whose work merits public recognition for the significant impact it has had on students, the university and the state," said Ted Carter, president of the University of Nebraska.

Individual faculty winners are awarded $10,000 each, a presidential medallion and an engraved plaque. The departmental winner receives $25,000 to support its instructional mission. Recipients of the Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award receive $25,000 to support diversity, access and inclusion efforts.

All winners, who are chosen by panels of their peers, are honored at a luncheon in the spring attended by senior leaders and colleagues from across the university.