(left to right) Drs. Amador, Greiner, Qureishi and Pirruccello (Alvares not shown).

The Hematopathology Section in the Department of Pathology and Microbiology is under the direction of Dr. Timothy Greiner, and consists of Drs. Carmelita AlvaresCatalina AmadorHina Naushad Qureishi and Samuel Pirruccello, as well as fellows and laboratory and support personnel. All members of the group are actively involved in teaching and service in the field of hematopathology. The section is active in the teaching of medical students and pathology residents and we currently have two fellows in our accredited  hematopathology training program. With regard to service, the section is responsible for all diagnostic hematopathology, as well as flow cytometry, immunohistochemistry, and molecular hematopathology. Our faculty conduct hematopathology research on campus, and are members of the Nebraska Lymphoma Study Group and the James O. Armitage Center for Hematological Malignancies Research.