UNMC Rural Health Action Team

This team is made up of interdisciplinary leaders in education, research and clinical care who have vast experience in meeting the health needs of rural Nebraska. The Action Team is the next generation of UNMC’s Rural Health 2030 Task Force appointed by Chancellor Jeffrey Gold in 2017. The group’s charge is to take the information UNMC continues to learn in our collective rural health work as a result of the Rural Health 2030 initiative, to ensure it remains renewed and relevant, and to move the resulting action plans forward.

Chris Kratochvil, MD, Interim Vice Chancellor for External Relations

Windy Alonso, PhD, Assistant Professor, College of Nursing

Bob Bartee, Senior Adviser to the Chancellor

Matthew Beacom, MD, College of Public Health

Nicole Carritt, Director, Rural Health Initiatives; Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Workforce Education Relations

Kelly Caverzagie, MD, Associate Dean, Educational Strategy

David Cloyed, MD, RN-BC, Nebraska Medicine, Applications Director, Enterprise Applications - Connected Health

H. Dele Davies, MD, Senior Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs

Cindy Ellis, MD, Director of Developmental Medicine, Munroe-Meyer Institute



Heidi Keeler, PhD, Director, Office of Community Engagement

Ali Khan, MD, Dean, College of Public Health

Wayne Mathews, Director of Research, Allied Health Professions

Kyle Meyer, PhD, Dean, College of Allied Health Professions

Keith Olsen, PharMD, Dean, College of Pharmacy

William O'Neill, Executive Director, Department of Strategic Communications 

Juliann Sebastian, PhD, Dean, College of Nursing

Chris Shaffer, PharMD, Associate Dean, College of Pharmacy

Rowen Zetterman, MD, Dean, College of Dentistry