UNMC for the record

January 20, 2017

Image with caption: Samuel Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., left, receives the ACT Distinguished Scientist Award from Anthony Kiorpes, Ph.D., D.V.M., president of the American College of Toxicology.

Samuel Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., left, receives the ACT Distinguished Scientist Award from Anthony Kiorpes, Ph.D., D.V.M., president of the American College of Toxicology.

Dr. Cohen receives Society of Toxicology Merit Award, other honors
Samuel Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., Havlik-Wall Professor of Oncology in the UNMC Department of Pathology and Microbiology, received the Ambassador Award from the Mid-Atlantic Society of Toxicology in October. Dr. Cohen also was honored with the Distinguished Scientist Award, American College of Toxicology at the 2016 Annual ACT Meeting. He also will be presented the Society of Toxicology Merit Award on March 12 during the awards ceremony held at the society's annual meeting in Baltimore.

The Society of Toxicology Merit Award is presented to a member in recognition of distinguished contributions to toxicology throughout an entire career in areas such as research, teaching, regulatory activities, consulting and service to the society. The award consists of a plaque, a cash stipend and an invitation for Dr. Cohen to deliver the Merit Award Lecture at March's annual meeting.

Dr. Lyubchenko named to the Education Board at the American Health Council
Yuri Lyubchenko, Ph.D., professor, pharmaceutical science, College of Pharmacy, has been named to the Education Board at the American Health Council. A UNMC Distinguished Scientist in 2008, Dr. Lyubchenko has been at UNMC since 2004. His areas of expertise include nanomedicine, biophysics and nanotechnology. He has had 254 articles published in peer-reviewed publications. The American Health Council is comprised of medical leaders and innovators and includes practitioners in allied health, dentistry, obstetrics, medicine, nursing, optometry, pharmacy, psychology and other health professions. The goal of the council is to maintain and improve the physical and mental health of Americans.

Retirements announced
The UNMC Department of Human Resources has released a list of 11 retirements spanning the period between Oct. 15 and Jan. 6. Two of the retirees, Dale Miller and Renee Fordyce-Boyer, had more than 40 years of service, while two others, Peggy Bottjen and Daniel Brick, had more than 30 years of service.

Here's the complete list of retirements:

  • Dale Miller, facilities management and planning-administration, retired Nov. 1 (start date June 27, 1973)
  • Renee Fordyce-Boyer, Munroe-Meyer Institute, cytogenetics, retired Jan. 5 (start date Aug. 4, 1975)
  • Peggy Bottjen, allied health research administration, retired Oct. 15 (start date April 11, 1983)
  • Daniel Brick, iEXCEL℠, retired Dec. 3 (start date Oct. 17, 1984)
  • Timothy Durham, D.D.S., College of Dentistry, growth and development, retired Jan. 1 (start date Jan. 1, 1988)
  • Alan Wass, College of Nursing, communication & technology support, retired Dec. 9 (start date Jan. 8, 1996)
  • Rachel Chapin, Security Office, retired Jan. 6 (start date Aug. 27, 1999)
  • Linda Diehl, College of Dentistry, adult restorative, retired Jan. 1 (start date Dec. 12, 2000)
  • Leni Rauschenberg, obstetrics/gynecology, retired Jan. 6 (start date Sept. 5, 2001)
  • Jay Schwartzbeck, facilities management and planning-utilities, retired Dec. 9 (start date April 16, 2009)
  • Thomas Foland, radiology, retired Nov. 5 (start date May 21, 2012)

iEXCEL℠ Advisory Board created
UNMC Chancellor Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., has convened a formal iEXCEL℠ Advisory Board to support the development of the iEXCEL℠ program and the creation of the Global Center for Advanced Interprofessional Learning. The board, which meets quarterly, held its first meeting last November.

Board members are:

  • Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., chancellor, UNMC
  • Mogens Bay, chairman & chief executive officer, Valmont Industries, Inc.
  • James Linder, M.D., chief strategist, University of Nebraska
  • Sue Morris, president, Heritage Services
  • Walter Scott, chairman emeritus, Peter Kiewit Sons', Inc.
  • Beverly Seay, director, Nebraska Applied Research Institute at the University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • Mike Yanney, chairman emeritus, The Burlington Capital Group LLC

Participating UNMC & iEXCEL℠ Leadership are:

  • Deb Thomas, vice chancellor for business and finance
  • Pamela Boyers, Ph.D., associate vice chancellor, clinical simulation, iEXCEL℠
  • Ron Schaefer, director, facilities planning & construction
  • Craig Ellis, architect & manager, capital projects, UNMC
  • Ben Stobbe, executive director for clinical simulation, iEXCEL℠
  • Suzanne Torroni-Roberts, executive director for business development, iEXCEL℠

Dr. Shaw to speak on his book, 'Last Night in the OR'
Bud Shaw, M.D., professor, surgery, and the surgeon who started the liver transplant program at UNMC/Nebraska Medicine in 1985, will review his book, "Last Night in the OR," for the Eclectic Book Review Club on Feb. 21. The book club has monthly meetings, which include lunch, at the Field Club, 3615 Woolworth Ave., starting at noon. Cost to attend is $13 per person. Call Rita at 402-553-3147 to make a reservation.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Name (Required)

Email (Required)

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.