UNMC Board of Counselors names new officers, members during annual meeting

by Vicky Cerino
June 07, 2018

Image with file name: Scottsbluff_National_Monument_1997.jpg

The University of Nebraska Medical Center Board of Counselors held its annual meeting recently naming new officers and welcoming 14 new members.

The board - a group of more than 80 community and business leaders from across the state - advises UNMC Chancellor Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., on health care issues of importance.

Mike Jones, president of Jones Insurance Agency of David City, will serve as chairperson, succeeding Dave Wimmer, retired chairperson and CEO of Wimmer’s Meat Products of West Point. Weysan Dun, Dun Global Solutions Group LLC, will serve as vice-chairperson.


Below are the 14 new board members.

Broken Bow - Connie Adams, co-owner, Adams Land and Cattle Company and retired teacher;

Hastings - Jessica Meeske, D.D.S., pediatric dentist, Pediatric Dental Specialists of Greater Nebraska

Kearney - Jon Abegglen, senior loan officer, First National Bank in Kearney; Darren Robinson, president, Buffalo County Economic Council

Lincoln - Preeta Bansal, CEO of Social Emergence Corp. and lecturer, MIT media lab; Susan Bockrath, executive director, Nebraska Association of Local Health Directors; Jon Hinrichs, M.D., family medicine physician

Omaha - Laura Alley, business development and community relations, Alley-Poyner Macchietto Architecture; Ann Bird, private consultant, independent education management; N.P. "Sandy" Dodge, IV, president emeritus and chairman of the board, N.P. Dodge Company; Charles Sederstrom, Jr., partner, Erickson & Sederstrom Law Firm; Richard Webb, executive director, 100 Black Men of Omaha; Bob Wolfson, owner, Bob Wolfson Consulting and co-founder of WeLaunch

York - Charles Harris, board chair, York General Health Care Services and vice president of the York Community Foundation.


Below are the board members who continue to serve.

Alliance - David Briggs, CEO, Westco

Bellevue - Rita Sanders, Bellevue mayor and director, Richmont Village

Doniphan -- Ann Martin, president, IdeaBank Marketing

Gothenburg - Susan Williams, retired registered nurse

Grand Island - Alice Quick, nurse, CHI Health St. Francis; Lisa Willman, agent, State Farm Agency

Kearney - Marilyn Hadley, Ed.D., professor emeritus, University of Nebraska at Kearney, president, Nebraska Foundation for the Humanities; and Thomas Henning, president and CEO, Cash-Wa Distributing Co.

Lincoln - Mary Abel, retired vice president, commercial loans, Union Bank and Trust; Leirion Gaylor-Baird, city councilwoman, Lincoln City Council; Barbara Bartle, president, Lincoln Community Foundation; Matthew Bergmeyer, 2nd vice president, commercial lending, First National Bank of Omaha; Charlie Bills, financial advisor, Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC; Bill Cintani, owner, CEO, Mapes Industry; Judi gaiashkibos, executive director, Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs; Ben Harris, CEO, Crossroads Capital, Inc.; William "Bill" Lester, executive vice president/treasurer, Ameritas; Cindy Morris, vice president and chief financial officer, Duncan Aviation; Joseph V. Petty III, M.D., anesthesiologist, CHI Health Nebraska Heart and Bryan Health; Bryan Shank, vice president, commercial banking, Union Bank and Trust Company; John Spatz, executive director, Nebraska Association of School Boards; Jana Tanner, home health liaison, Physician's Choice Home Health Care; and Judy Wilcox, community volunteer

Mullen - Margaret Cavanaugh-Boyer, M.D., partner, Sandhills Family Medicine

Norfolk - Bradley Krivohlavek, D.D.S., dentist

North Platte - Dan O’Neill, owner and CEO, Kwik Stop Convenience Stores; Judy Pederson, owner, Pro Printing and Graphics

Omaha - Willie Barney, president, Empowerment Network; Sara Boyd, CEO, Omaha Community Foundation; Howard W. Buffett, president and co-owner, Buffett Farms Nebraska LLC; Ruben Cano, principal, Omaha South High Magnet School; John Cavanaugh, vice president, Holland Children's Movement; Rev. Portia Cavitt, pastor, Clair Memorial United Methodist Church; Joyce Cooper, manager, corporate diversity & advocacy, Omaha Public Power District; Theola Cooper, crime prevention specialist, Omaha Police Department; Sean M. Conway, attorney, Doran, Lustgarten & Troia, PC; Howard Epstein, executive director, Jewish Federation of Omaha Foundation; Viv Ewing, Ph.D., executive director, Nebraska Families Collaborative; Gail Graeve, executive director, Mutual of Omaha Foundation; Kellie Harry, legislative consultant, federal government affairs, Mutual of Omaha Insurance Company; Joseph Hodges Jr., president, Lion’s Gate Security Solutions, Inc.; Mary Ann Holland, community volunteer; Emiliano Lerda, J.D., LLM, executive director, Justice for Our Neighbors-Nebraska; Nuzhat Mahmood, director, program management and planning, CSG International; Kenny McMorris, president and CEO, Charles Drew Health Center; Othello Meadows III, executive director, Seventy-five North Revitalization Corp; Allyson Mendoza, J.D., attorney, Douglas County Public Defender's Office; and Ariel Roblin, president and general manager, KETV television; Susan Roffman Norton, J.D., civic leader; Doug Schroder, art teacher and gallery director, Duchesne Academy; Brad von Gillern, president, Lueder Construction Company; Thomas Warren, president & CEO, Urban League of Nebraska; and Roger Weitz, general director, Opera Omaha

Red Cloud - Amy Springer, M.D., physician, Webster County Hospital

Seward - Michael Hecker, executive vice president of operations and board member, Jones National Bank and Trust Company

Scottsbluff - Sandy Massey, senior VP-director of human resources, Platte Valley Companies; Todd Sorensen, M.D., retired president and CEO, Regional West Health Services

Sidney  - Evette Ranslem-Parsons, director of marketing and public relations, Sidney Regional Medical Center

Valentine - Marian Davenport, nurse, Valentine Community Schools

Wayne - Jill Broderson, architect, Homestead Homes of America, Inc.

West Point  - Nadine Hagedorn, senior vice president, Bank First

 Whitman - Tanya Storer, commissioner, Cherry County

York - Margaret Brink, president, National Association of Local Boards of Health;


Alumni members who’ve recently completed terms are listed below.

Columbus - K.C. Belitz, president, Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce

Beatrice - Dennis Byars, former state senator, Nebraska Legislature

Lincoln - Ronald Wachter, vice president, retired, BryanLGH Medical Center; Dwight Wininger, executive vice president, Pinpoint Broadband, Inc.

Omaha - Anne Branigan, senior vice president-innovative services, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce; Patrick "Marty" Connealy, attorney-senior partner, Crites, Shaffer, Connealy, Watson, Patras & Cullers, P.C., L.L.O.; Tom Fischer, vice president, general counsel & secretary, Duncan Aviation, Inc.; Nelson Gordman, retired; Freddie Gray; Diny Landen, president/owner, Vantage Communications, Inc.; Michael Pallesen, partner, Cline Williams Wright Johnson & Oldfather, L.L.P.; Chris Rodgers, commissioner, Douglas County Board of Commissioners; Suzanne Singer, career volunteer;

West Point - Dave Wimmer, retired chairperson and CEO of Wimmer’s Meat Products of West Point

York - Karen Harris, community volunteer; and Amy Holthaus, civic leader

We are Nebraska Medicine and UNMC. Our mission is to lead the world in transforming lives to create a healthy future for all individuals and communities through premier educational programs, innovative research and extraordinary patient care.

Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  YouTube  |  Flickr