IEXCEL honors innovation in health care

by John Keenan, UNMC strategic communications | March 17, 2022

Image with caption: Jennifer Cera, DNP, accepts the Academic Award during IEXCEL's Innovation Awards at the Davis Global Center.

Jennifer Cera, DNP, accepts the Academic Award during IEXCEL's Innovation Awards at the Davis Global Center.

The second annual iEXCEL Innovation Awards were held March 7.

Pamela Boyers, PhD, associate vice chancellor for clinical simulation at iEXCEL, said she was excited to celebrate the work at iEXCEL over the past year.

"We love our faculty, staff and student innovators," Dr. Boyers said. "They are bold and creative as they help pave the way and create a future model for health professions education."

The award recipients were:

picture disc.
The IEXCEL Innovation Awards were held at the Davis Global Center.

Impact Award: Abbey Fingeret, MD, UNMC Division of Surgical Oncology, for the creation of a residency prep course (RPC). Dr. Fingeret has been involved in multiple projects at iEXCEL, including an interprofessional tele health simulation, student lead suture research, the creation of Surgery Boot Camp and the RPC.  

Academic Award: Jennifer Cera, DNP, UNMC College of Nursing, for her pelvic floor module.

Teaching Technologies Award: Justin Mott, MD, PhD, UNMC Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, for laproscopy and iWall mixed modality sessions.

Clinical Award: Kim Duncan, MD, UNMC Department of Surgery, for many surgical skills simulations.

Collaborative IPE Award: Mia Hyde, UNMC College of Allied Health Professions; Dr. Fingeret; Pam Dickey, UNMC College of Allied Health Profession; Liliana Bronner, UNMC Department of Family Medicine; Jannelle Reynolds, UNMC College of Allied Health Professions; Kristen Cook, PharmD, UNMC College of Pharmacy; Dean Collier, PharmD, College of Pharmacy, for interprofessional telehealth human simulations.

Nebraska Medicine Award: Angela Sivertson, Kristin Passler, Erin Herold, Catlin Hagen and Lisa Drew for innovative use of the iWalls by the Nebraska Medicine nursing staff.

The iEXCEL Innovation Awards are supported through philanthropic support from the University of Nebraska Foundation, the Hitchcock Foundation and AVI-SPL. The concept is to create a mechanism that encourages and supports the adoption of interprofessional and experiential learning and to foster innovation in teaching and research. The awards will be offered to faculty, staff and students who create and implement new ideas for teaching, research and scholarship using the simulation technologies and environments in the Davis Global Center.

Awardees were selected by an iEXCEL Innovation Awards Committee, with representation from iEXCEL staff, from each department of simulation modalities.