College of Dentistry celebrates accomplishments

by Erin Wirth, UNMC College of Dentistry | May 19, 2022

Image with caption: From left, senior dental student award winners Jordan Verplank, Logan Lawrence, Shelby Rose, William

From left, senior dental student award winners Jordan Verplank, Logan Lawrence, Shelby Rose, William "Brant" McNew, Alec Maly, Andrew Egger, Selam Carlson, Jason Jurca, Karla Mejia and Evan McGowan at the Senior Salute Celebration.

The UNMC College of Dentistry recently celebrated the accomplishments of the college community at the Recognition & Awards Ceremony and the accomplishments of the graduating seniors at the Senior Salute Celebration.

"Each year, we are thrilled to honor the accomplishments of our students, faculty and staff," said Janet Guthmiller, DDS, PhD, dean of the college. "Every day, each member of the college of dentistry team contributes to the present and future of oral health care and helps continue the college’s 123-year tradition of excellence.

"Behind every award, there is a great story of an individual whose hard work and pursuit of excellence has led to extraordinary achievements. The award winners exemplify the college's values of integrity, intellectual curiosity and passion in everything we do," Dr. Guthmiller said.

At the Recognition & Awards Ceremony, held on April 15 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln East Campus Union, the following were recognized:

  • Student Conference Presenters
  • Summer Research Fellowship Awards
  • Student Academic Scholarships
  • Student Leadership Awards
  • Faculty Grants & Contracts
  • Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society & Sigma Phi Alpha National Dental Hygiene Honor Society Awards
  • UNMC Outstanding Teacher, Distinguished Scientist and Silver U Awards

See award listing.

Other special recognitions:

  • 2022 Student Research Day Winners - At the annual College of Dentistry Research Day, third-year dental students, fourth-year dental hygiene students and postgraduate students present the results of their original research projects. They work with faculty mentors, gaining insight into how they can help shape the future the oral health through research. The top three presentations were honored in three categories -- postgraduate, dental and dental hygiene.
  • Faculty Recognition Awards - College of Dentistry students recognize faculty members for their commitment to helping students succeed and for making a profound difference in students’ lives.
  • Dr. Kenneth Batenhorst Memorial Faculty Award - Gregory Bennett, DMD, assistant professor and vice chair of the department of adult restorative dentistry, received the college's prestigious teaching award, the Dr. Kenneth Batenhorst Memorial Faculty Award. The award is given by the graduating dental class to a faculty member who has made a significant contribution to their education and has shown great dedication to preparing students to be leaders in dentistry.

At the annual Senior Salute Celebration, held on May 3 at the Nebraska Champions Club, senior dental and dental hygiene seniors were recognized for academic excellence, leadership, character, service and aptitude and achievement in dental specialties. See senior award listing.