UNMC Alumni Association announces annual award recipients

Catherine Mello, director of the Department of Alumni Relations

Catherine Mello, director of the Department of Alumni Relations

The UNMC Alumni Association (UNMCAA) and its alumni councils have announced the 2021 award recipients.

"These selected alumni's accomplishments reflect the clinical excellence, community service and resiliency in the face of adversity that is prevalent amongst our alumni community," said Catherine Mello, UNMC alumni director. "We are so proud of these individuals and all they have done to improve the lives of others."

The 2021 alumni award recipients are:

College of Dentistry

David Brown, PhD, Distinguished Service Award;

Janet Guthmiller, DDS, PhD, Distinguished Service Award;

Jon Asbjörnson, DDS (Class of 1987) & Chuck Genrich, DDS (Class of 1983) for work with Clinic with a Heart, Alumni Achievement Award;

Byron Tullis, DDS, posthumously, (Class of 1958), Alumni Achievement Award;

Nebraska Innovation Campus Hand Sanitizer Team (Hunter Floodman, David Martin, Jerry Reif, Max Wheeler and Terry Howell Jr.), Honorary Life Membership;

Joan Sivers, DDS, Honorary Life Membership;

Darlene Carritt (Class of 1978), Outstanding Educator; and

Robin Hattervig, DDS (Class of 1984) Outstanding Educator.

Graduate Studies Program

Adi Pour, PhD, (MS 1983, PhD 1986), Distinguished Alumnus Award;       

Jennifer Pluznick, PhD (Class of 2005), Early Career Achievement Award; and

Dennis Robinson, PhD, Honorary Alumnus Award.

College of Medicine

David Henry Chait, MD, (Class of 1971), Distinguished Alumnus Award;

Gerald "Jay" Moore, MD, (Class of 1971), Dedication to Student Excellence Award;

Natalie (Stavas) Laub, MD, (Class of 2011), Early Career Achievement Award; and

Robert Bartee, Honorary Alumnus Award.

College of Nursing

Kathleen Hanna, PhD, (Diploma 1972, MSN 1981), Distinguished Alumnus Award; and

Burty MacWan (BSN 2009), Dorothy Patach Spirit of Service Award.

College of Pharmacy

Susanne Hiland, PharmD (PharmD Class of 1986), Distinguished Alumnus Award.

College of Public Health

Elizabeth Chentland (Class of 2012), Distinguished Alumnus Award; and

Shelby Braun (Class of 2017), Early Career Achievement Award.

We are Nebraska Medicine and UNMC. Our mission is to lead the world in transforming lives to create a healthy future for all individuals and communities through premier educational programs, innovative research and extraordinary patient care.

Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  YouTube  |  Flickr