College of Dentistry dean search committee named

Editor’s Note: Since the announcement, four individuals – Karen Gustin, Jean Fox, DDS, Jennifer Larsen, MD, and Scott Raymond – have joined the search committee. Their names have been added to the full list below.

UNMC leaders have established a search committee to begin a formal search for a new UNMC College of Dentistry dean.

Bradley Britigan, MD, dean of the UNMC College of Medicine, will chair the committee, which includes representation from the medical center, as well as other leaders and dental professionals across Nebraska.

The committee is tasked with finding a successor for Janet Guthmiller, DDS, PhD, who has served as dean of the UNMC College of Dentistry since September 2014. Dr. Guthmiller will become dean of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Adams School of Dentistry this fall.

In addition to Dr. Britigan, search committee members include:

  • Scott Raymond, vice president-chief information and innovation officer, Nebraska Medicine (replaces Michael Ash, MD, vice chancellor for information technology, Nebraska Medicine
  • Ann Anderson Berry, MD, PhD, executive director, Child Health Research Institute
  • Anne Barnes, vice chancellor for business, finance and business development, UNMC
  • Bob Bartee, senior advisor to the chancellor
  • Pam Boyers, PhD, associate vice chancellor for iEXCEL, UNMC
  • Charles Craft, DDS, state dental director, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
  • Jean Fox, DDS, assistant dean for clinical education and quality assurance, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Karen Gustin, executive vice president, group division, Ameritas Life Insurance Corp.
  • Paula Harre, DDS, Lincoln Orthodontics
  • Gwen Hlava, professor and chair, department of dental hygiene, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Nicole Kent, student regent, UNMC
  • Ali Khan, MD, MPH, dean, UNMC College of Public Health
  • Amy Killeen, DDS, associate professor, department of surgical specialties, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Claire Koukol, DDS, assistant professor, department of growth and development, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Trek Langehan, MD, president-elect, UNMC Faculty Senate
  • Jennifer Larsen, MD, vice chancellor for research, UNMC
  • Tom Macy, vice president of operations, Nebraska Medicine
  • Jessica Meeske, DDS, Pediatric Dental Specialists of Greater Omaha
  • Kyle Meyer, PhD, dean, UNMC College of Allied Health Professions
  • Lisa Moravec, coordinator and associate professor, department of dental hygiene, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Keith Olsen, PharmD, dean, UNMC College of Pharmacy
  • Juliann Sebastian, PhD, dean, UNMC College of Nursing
  • Nikki Steinhauser, student, UNMC College of Dentistry
  • Sheritta Strong, MD, assistant vice chancellor for inclusion, UNMC
  • Brett Thomsen, DDS, Thomsen Dental Group
  • Rowen Zetterman, MD, emeritus professor, UNMC
  • Anne Bowen, senior assistant to the chancellor, UNMC

The committee, scheduled to initially meet June 29, will commence regular meetings to discuss next steps, including reviewing and formalizing a position description, identifying a national search firm and creating a web page related to the search. Questions or recommendations may be directed to Dr. Britigan and Anne Bowen-Fischer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.