Nominations open for President’s Excellence Awards

Ted Carter, president of the University of Nebraska System

Nominations are open for the system-wide President’s Excellence Awards — the University of Nebraska System’s most prestigious honors for success in the classroom, the laboratory, campus and broader communities.

Individual faculty winners are awarded $10,000 each, a presidential medallion and an engraved plaque. The departmental winner receives $25,000 to support its instructional mission. Recipients of the Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award receive $25,000 to support diversity, access and inclusion efforts.

All winners, who are chosen by panels of their peers, will be honored at the August 2024 Board of Regents meeting.

Nomination criteria, information on past winners and instructions are all available on the awards webpage. All nominations are due Nov. 13.

  • Faculty IP Innovation and Commercialization Award (FIPICA): Honors members of the University of Nebraska System faculty who have developed and nurtured new intellectual property from concept to licensing/startup business.
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award (ORCA): Recognizes up to two individual faculty members for outstanding research or creative activity of national or international significance.
  • Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award (OTICA): Recognizes up to two individual faculty members who have demonstrated meritorious and sustained records of excellence and creativity in teaching.
  • Innovation, Development and Engagement Award (IDEA): Recognizes up to two faculty members who have extended their academic expertise beyond the boundaries of the university system in ways that have enriched the broader community.
  • Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award (IECA): Recognizes sustained, outstanding contributions in diversity and inclusion between two or more academic and/or administrative units or campuses that move the university system toward inclusive excellence.
  • University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA): Recognizes a department or unit that has made a unique and significant contribution to the teaching efforts of the university system and which has outstanding esprit de corps in its dedication to the education of students at the undergraduate, graduate or professional level.