Dr. Lowe named inaugural Anne M. Hubbard Chair

John Lowe, PhD

John Lowe, PhD

John Lowe, PhD, has been named the inaugural Anne M. Hubbard Chair and department chair of the UNMC Department of Environmental, Agricultural and Occupational Health. His appointment is effective July 1, 2024.

“After an exhaustive national search, I am delighted that Dr. Lowe was the overwhelming choice of our faculty, staff, students and partners,” said Ali S. Khan, MD, MPH, dean of the UNMC College of Public Health and Richard Holland Presidential Chair. “Dr. Lowe is a proven scientist and leader known for transdisciplinary collaboration with a clear vision to expand the department’s science for healthier people and places in our state, nation and world.”

Dr. Lowe’s current positions also include interim chair and professor for the department, assistant vice chancellor for health security training and education, and director of the Global Center for Health Security. His expertise, particularly in infection prevention and control of emerging infectious diseases, has been instrumental in national and international health security efforts.

“I am thrilled that Dr. Lowe has accepted the offer to be the new EAOH chair,” said Brandon Grimm, PhD, vice dean of the UNMC College of Public Health. “Dr. Lowe leads with exceptional expertise, vision, authenticity and courage.”

In his role as the inaugural Hubbard Chair, he will continue to advance the mission of the UNMC Department of Environmental, Agricultural and Occupational Health.

“I am honored to be selected as the new chair for EAOH,” Dr. Lowe said. “I look forward to following in Dr. Eli Rogan’s footsteps by building upon the success of the extremely talented faculty, staff and students in the department.”

Dr. Lowe also highlighted the scholarship and reputation of the department in climate and health, agricultural health and safety, health security and toxicology as key drivers of future success.


  1. Pat Wortmann says:

    Excellent choice. Congratulations, Dr. Lowe

  2. Beth Beam says:

    Congratulations on this new leadership role John! Great news.

  3. Kristin Morrissey says:

    Congratulations, Dr. Lowe. Well deserved.

  4. Shelly Schwedhelm says:

    Excellent leader! Congratulations John.

  5. Catherine Mello says:

    Awesome. Congrats, John!

    And to have a chair in the name of Dr. Hubbard is really special. She’s phenomenal.

  6. Mike Wadman says:

    Outstanding leader and outstanding choice! Congrats John!

  7. Tony Sambol says:

    Congratulations on your appointment John. You are truly a leader in this area for us and for the world.

  8. Rima AlBalushi says:

    Congratulations, Dr. Lowe!

  9. Ellen Duysen says:

    Congratulation Dr. Lowe! We are so extremely fortunate to have you leading the EAOH Department.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.