Tatiana Bronich, Ph.D., named 2014 Scientist Laureate

by John Keenan, UNMC public relations | November 25, 2014

Image with caption: Tatiana Bronich, Ph.D.

Tatiana Bronich, Ph.D.

Tatiana Bronich, Ph.D., professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the College of Pharmacy and co-director of the Center for Drug Delivery and Nanomedicine, has been named UNMC's ninth Scientist Laureate.

The award is the highest honor UNMC bestows to researchers.

Dr. Bronich was honored along with 24 other researchers recently named UNMC Distinguished Scientist, New Investigator and Research Leadership award winners for 2014.

Dr. Bronich's research deals with self-assembling polymer materials and applications of these materials in medicine.

"The individuals who receive UNMC's Scientist Laureate Award are recognized for their sustained commitment to research excellence and productivity," said Courtney Fletcher, Pharm.D., dean of the UNMC College of Pharmacy. "This isn't an award someone receives for resting on their accomplishments or waiting their turn.

"Tanya Bronich is the epitome of the scientist laureate," he said. "She has made and continues to make exceptional research accomplishments; she is tireless in her pursuit of new knowledge and advancing the science of drug delivery to improve treatment outcomes. She is a dedicated mentor and teacher, and a good academic citizen of the College of Pharmacy and UNMC.

"Tanya's recognition as the 2014 UNMC Scientist Laureate is well deserved and most appropriate -- and I am personally thrilled by this recognition for all that she has accomplished," Dr. Fletcher said.

"Dr. Bronich is not only an outstanding scientist, but directs a large center that has increased our national visibility in nanomedicine, and is a wonderful mentor," said Jennifer Larsen, M.D., vice chancellor for research.

Research Leadership Award

The Research Leadership Award

The Research Leadership Award is intended to honor scientists previously recognized as Distinguished Scientists who have a longstanding research funding history, and also serve as research leaders and mentors on campus.

This year's recipients are:

  • Hamid Band, M.D., Ph.D., Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases
  • Michael Brattain, Ph.D., Eppley Institute
  • Keith Johnson, Ph.D., College of Dentistry
  • Joseph Sisson, M.D., College of Medicine
  • Kay-Uwe Wagner, Ph.D, Eppley Institute

Distinguished Scientist Award

The Distinguished Scientist Award

The Distinguished Scientist Award -- which is sponsored by the chancellor -- recognizes researchers who have been among the most productive scientists in the country during the past five years.

This year's recipients are:

  • Yazen Alnouti, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Kaustubh Datta, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Cyrus DeSouza, M.B.B.S., College of Medicine
  • Santhi Gorantla, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Chittibabu Guda, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • David Oupicky, Ph.D., College of Pharmacy
  • Jill Poole, M.D., College of Medicine
  • Pankaj Singh, Ph.D., Eppley Institute
  • Philip Smith, M.D., College of Medicine
  • Jing Wang, Ph.D., Eppley Institute

New Investigator Awards

The New Investigator Award

New Investigator Awards go to outstanding UNMC scientists who in the past two years have secured their first funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense or other national sources. New Investigators also had to demonstrate scholarly activity such as publishing their research and/or presenting their findings at national conventions.

This year's recipients are:

  • Kishor Bhakat, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Erika Boesen, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Jixin Dong, Ph.D., Eppley Institute
  • Monirul Islam, M.D., Ph.D., College of Public Health
  • Max Kurz, Ph.D., Munroe-Meyer Institute
  • Paras Mishra, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Natalia Osna, M.D., Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Melissa Teoh-Fitzgerald, Ph.D., College of Medicine
  • Lufei Young, Ph.D., College of Nursing

Ceremony in February
A campus ceremony will be held Feb. 2 to recognize the award recipients, as well as the winner of the Community Service to Research Award, who will be announced later.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Name (Required)

Email (Required)

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.

March 16, 2015 at 2:58 PM

Way to go!

February 04, 2015 at 10:22 PM

Very Congratulations!! Its an honored to COP :)

Kusum K. Kharbanda
November 25, 2014 at 9:28 PM

Dear Tanya, Congratulations!! A much-deserved award. We are so happy for you.

Alexander Kabanov
November 25, 2014 at 11:52 AM

Dear Tanya Wonderful news! Most deserved recognition of your nearly 20 year service to UNMC as well as you very substantial contribution to science. Makes all of us closely working with you and admiring you proud of your achievements! Sasha Kabanov

Robin Taylor
November 25, 2014 at 7:08 AM

Congratulations to Dr. Bronich