College of Pharmacy Dean

Keith Olsen, PharmD

Keith Olsen, PharmD, FCCP, FCCM, serves as the Joseph D. Williams Endowed Dean of the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Pharmacy, where he received his PharmD. 

Dr. Olsen earned a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry at Wayne State College and completed a residency at Nebraska Medicine.

Dr. Olsen was on the UNMC faculty for two decades before serving as dean of the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy for three years.

It's good to be back home. But his time away, at Arkansas, was invaluable, Dr. Olsen said:

"I think the best thing that I could have done was to leave and come back, to get a better understanding of leadership, and directing a program, and how you would be inclusive. I've always said that administration is a team sport."

Dr. Olsen is recognized as a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the American College of Critical Care Medicine. He was elected to the Board of Regents of the American College of Critical Care Medicine in 2010 and 2013, serving as vice chancellor in 2017 and now current chancellor, the first pharmacist to do so. He was elected to the Board of Trustees Research Institute for the American College of Clinical Pharmacy in 2012.

He has published more than 350 peer-reviewed publications, abstracts and book chapters in the areas of critical care pharmacotherapy and infectious diseases.

Two graduating Doctor of Pharmacy classes have recognized him as the Distinguished Teacher of the Year. He is one of the co-developers of a Point-of-Care certification program for pharmacists.

Dr. Olsen is excited about the opportunities here at UNMC. "I've always said the most valuable resources you have are the faculty and students."