University of Nebraska Medical Center

Native American Tribes

Nebraska residency status is provided to a person not residing in Nebraska who is a member of a Native American tribe that is indigenous to or has historically migrated to or from the State of Nebraska. View the list below for Native American tribes in this category.

It is the responsibility of the student to submit a copy of their tribal card to be considered a resident for tuition purposes. Students who do not provide this documentation will be determined to be nonresidents without further notification.

Tribes Provided with Nebraska Residency Status

  • Arapaho
  • Arikara
  • Cheyenne
  • Comanche
  • Crow
  • Dakota Sioux
  • Dhegihan
  • Hidatsa
  • Iowa
  • Jicarilla Apache
  • Kansa
  • Kickapoo
  • Kiowa
  • Lakota Sioux
  • Mandan
  • Missouria
  • Nakota Sioux
  • Northern Cheyenne
  • Omaha
  • Osage
  • Otoe
  • Pawnee
  • Ponca
  • Potawatomie
  • Quapaw
  • Sac and Fox
  • Santee Sioux
  • Southern Cheyenne
  • Winnebago