About the Faculty

UNMC College of Dentistry faculty are recognized nationally for providing outstanding classroom and clinical education and cutting edge research that results in talented practitioners who deliver the highest quality of oral health services to patients throughout the region and beyond. Faculty are arranged by department and alphabetically by last name.

Adult Restorative Dentistry

Oral Biology

General dentistry, biomaterials, operative dentistry, prosthodontics, temporomandibular disorders, implant and digital dentistry
Steven E. Haas, Interim Department Chair
Biomedical sciences, behavioral sciences, practice management, radiology, oral pathology, biomonitoring, public health
James K. Wahl, Interim Department Chair

Yoshiharu Ameku | Prosthodontics
Mark W. Beatty | Dental materials, biomaterials
Gregory Bennett | Operative, comprehensive care
Richard K. Bokemper | Comprehensive care
Gerard Byrne | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
Marianne R. Day | Operative, comprehensive care
Michael J. Dowd | Comprehensive care
Amir Farhangpour | Assistant dean for Omaha clinics
Mary Lynn Froeschle | Clinical diagnosis, comprehensive care
Steven E. Haas | Prosthodontics, associate dean for clinical affairs
Jay D. Hansen | AEGD program director
Robin Hattervig | Comprehensive care
Meghan Hungerford Tylka | Comprehensive care
James F. Jenkins | Comprehensive care
William W. Johnson | Biomaterials, operative
Jennifer K. Kallio | Comprehensive care
Bradley J. Krivohlavek | Comprehensive care
Julie A. Marshall | Prosthodontics
Nicholas Murray | Comprehensive care
Luana Oliveira-Haas | Operative dentistry
Myhanh T. Phan-Rinne | Comprehensive care
Yun Saksena | Prosthodontics, associate dean for education
Joan E. Sivers | Prosthodontics, assistant dean of clinics
Daisy Wilka | Comprehensive care
David Zalewski | Comprehensive care
ARD Part-Time Faculty

David G. Brown | Oral biology, community outreach
Larry D. Crouch | Biochemistry, physiology
David G. Dunning | Practice management
Peter J. Giannini | Oral pathology
Sung K. Kim | Radiology
Keith R. Johnson | Cellular signaling
Dona J. McCanlies | Physiology
Nagamani Narayana | Oral pathology
Ali Nawshad | Cellular signaling
Gregory G. Oakley | DNA damage and repair
Aimin Peng | Cell cycle regulation
Thomas M. Petro | Immunology
James K. Wahl | Cellular signaling
Shayla D. Yoachim | Anatomy

Surgical Specialties

Growth and Development

Endodontics, oral surgery, periodontics, implant dentistry
J. Bruce Bavitz, Department Chair
Orthodontics, dentofacial orthopedics, pediatric dentistry, general practice residency
Jillian Wallen, Department Chair

J. Bruce Bavitz | Oral surgery, implant dentistry
Matthew R. Byarlay | Periodontics, implant dentistry
Megan Christiansen | Co-Director undergraduate periodontic clinic
Darrell J. Ebke | Oral surgery
Wayne B. Kaldahl | Periodontics
Amy C. Killeen | Periodontics
Hany M. Makkawy | Endodontics
Jeffrey B. Payne | Periodontics
Richard A. Reinhardt | Periodontics
G.L. Stephenson | Endodontics
Gerald J. Tussing | Periodontics
Merlyn Vogt | Endodontics

Zachary L. Houser | Pediatric dentistry, postgraduate program director
Claire Koukol | Pediatric dentistry
Jennifer A. Marshall | Pediatric dentistry
Kathleen A. O'Brien-Ausman | Clinical instructor, GPR program director
Sundaralingam Premaraj | Orthodontics
Bryan Skar | Pediatric dentistry
Meenakshi (Minnie) Vishwanath | Orthodontics
Jillian Wallen | Department chair, pediatric dentistry

Dental Hygiene

Emeritus Faculty

Gwen Hlava, Department Chair  

Nicole Baker | Clinical instructor, Gering, NE
Darlene Carritt | Senior clinical technique
Amanda M. Dolen | Junior and senior clinic
Heather Hessheimer | Junior clinic coordinator
Gwen Hlava | Department chair
Todd Junge | Junior and senior clinic
Lisa Moravec | Program coordinator, Gering, NE
Lindsay Mundil | Medical emergencies, junior and senior Clinic
Jaimee Shropshire | Sealant program coordinator
Brenda Utecht | Dental anatomy, community dental health

Stanton D. Harn | Anatomy
Brian M. Lange | Behavioral science, service learning
John W. Reinhardt | Operative, comprehensive care
Henry A. St. Germain Jr. | Operative, comprehensive care
David H. Shaw | Pharmacology, therapeutics
Ernest W. Sigler | Geriatric, comprehensive care

Top of page

Faculty, alphabetically, by last name

A - C
Ameku, Yoshiharu Baker, Nicole
Bavitz, J. Bruce
Beatty, Mark
Bennett, Gregory
Berkheim, David
Bokemper, Richard
Brown, David
Byarlay, Matthew
Byrne, Gerard
Carritt, Darlene
Christiansen, Megan
Crouch, Larry
D - G

Day, Marianne R.
Dolen, Amanda M.
Dowd, Michael J.
Dunning, David

Ebke, Darrell Farhangpour, Amir
Froeschle, Mary Lynn
Giannini, Peter
Guthmiller, Janet
H - M

Haas, Steven
Hansen, Jay
Harn, Stanton
Hattervig, Robin
Hessheimer, Heather
Hlava, Gwen
Houser, Zach
Hungerford-Tylka, Meghan

Jenkins, James
Johnson, Keith
Johnson, William
Junge, Todd

Kaldahl, Wayne
Kallio, Jennifer
Killeen, Amy
Kim, Sung
Krivohlavek, Bradley
Lange, Bryan 

McCanlies, Dona
Makkawy, Hany
Marshall, Julie
Moravec, Lisa
Mundil, Lindsay
Murray, Nicholas

N - R

Narayana, Nagamani
Nawshad, Ali

Oakley, Gregory
O'Brien-Ausman, Kathleen
Oliveira-Haas, Luana

Payne, Jeffrey
Peng, Aimin
Petro, Thomas
Phan-Rinne, Myhanh
Premaraj, Sundaralingam

Reinhardt, John
Reinhardt, Richard
S - Z

Saksena, Yun
Shaw, David
Shropshire, Jaimee
Skar, Bryan
Sigler, Ernest
Sivers, Joan
St. Germain, Henry
Stephenson, G. Lane

Tussing, Gerald
Utecht, Brenda
Vishwanath, Meenakshi (Minnie) 
Vogt, Merlyn

Wahl, James
Wallen, Jillian
Zalewski, David

Top of page